150% Sports Welcome up to ₹32,000


Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Thunder, BIG BASH LEAGUE 2019-20, Today Match Prediction 17 Dec 2019

The Gabba, Brisbane, Australia

143/10 in 19.2


172/6 in 20.0


Brisbane Heat


Sydney Thunder odds

BRH- 1.66
SYT- 2.10

Toss Winner - Sydney Thunder won the toss and chose to bat first

Sydney Thunder beat Brisbane Heat by 29 runs

The Big Bash Opening game!

  • Last year Chris Lynn and Max Bryan were standout players for Brisbane Heat in the competition
  • For Sydney Thunder, Captain Callum Ferguson and Daniel Sams were key performers in the last year’s competition
  • Brisbane Heat has an excellent head-to-head record against Sydney Thunder in the competition

Expect Brisbane Heat to beat Sydney Thunder in this BBL opener!

Tournament: BIG BASH LEAGUE 2019-20 | Format: T20 | Venue: The Gabba, Brisbane, Australia | Toss: To Bowl

Bet Now

The 2019 season of Australia’s premier T20 competition - the Big Bash League (BBL) - is about to begin from Tuesday where cricket fans will get to see non-stop action for more than 50 days. 

Just like the previous campaign, eight teams will be participating at the round-robin stage out of which the top four will be able to qualify for the playoffs.  Melbourne Renegades will be defending their title this time around as they claimed their first-ever BBL trophy after defeating Perth Scorchers in the final by 13 runs during the 2018-19 campaign. 

The first game of the tournament will be played between Brisbane Heat and Sydney Thunder at the Gabba in Brisbane on Tuesday.

Heat will be led by hard-hitting batsman Chris Lynn who will be accompanied by the likes of former South Africa’s captain AB de Villiers, all-rounder Ben Cutting, Afghanistan’s young leg-spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman and veteran pacer Ben Laughlin.

On the other hand, Sydney Thunder will be led middle-order batsman Callum Ferguson who will have the services of left-hander Usman Khawaja, England’s opening batsman Alex Hales, South Africa’s all-rounder Chris Morris, and right-arm pacer Jason Sangha.

Brisbane Heat Preview

The franchise struggled with consistency in the last year’s competition. The side failed to qualify for the playoffs of the competition and managed to secure six wins out of thirteen games played.

2012-13 BBL Champions will be looking to get off to good start in their opening fixture. The franchise has made notable acquisitions in the form of AB De Villiers and wicket-keeper batsman Tom Banton for this year’s competition.

In the batting department, the side will be relying on the likes of Max Bryant, Chris Lynn, and AB De Villiers to deliver the bulk of the runs. Last year, opening Max Bryant was a consistent performer for the side in the competition. In 14 matches played, Bryant accumulated 335 runs at a strike rate of 150.22. He will be keen to do well in this opening game of the competition.

Chris Lynn will need to lead from the front with the bat and make a notable score against Sydney Thunder. Lynn was the leading run-scorer for Brisbane Heat in the last year’s tournament. The right-handed batsman scored 385 runs in 14 matches at an average of 35.00 with four half-centuries to his name.
AB De Villiers, Alex Ross, and wicket-keeper Tom Banton will be given the task to pile on the runs in the later stages of the innings.

In the bowling department, the side will be relying on Josh Lalor, Ben Cutting and Mujeeb ur Rahman to provide the crucial breakthrough. Medium-pacer Ben Laughlin and Afghanistan’s Zahir Khan are other bowling options for the side for this game.

Brisbane Heat Predicted Playing XI:

Chris Lynn (captain), Tom Banton (wk), AB De Villiers, Sam Heazlett, Max Bryant, Ben Cutting, Josh Lalor, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Matt Renshaw, Ben Laughlin, Mitchell Swepson

Brisbane Heat Actual Playing XI:

Ben Cutting, Zahir Khan, Ben Laughlin, Sam Heazlett, Matt Renshaw, Chris Lynn, Josh Lalor, Mitchell Swepson, Mark Steketee, Max Bryant, Tom Banton

Sydney Thunder Preview

2015 BBL winners will be looking to turn their fortunes around in this year’s competition. Sydney Thunder has failed to make it to the playoffs in the previous three editions of the league. Captain Callum Ferguson will be hoping that the side can start their campaign on a positive note.

England’s Alex Hales and South Africa’s Chris Morris are two major acquisitions made by the franchise for this season.

In the batting department, the side will be depending on the likes of Callum Ferguson, Usman Khuwaja and Alex Hales to deliver the bulk of the runs. Last season, Callum Ferguson played exceedingly well and finished the competition with 442 runs to his name. The team management will be hoping that he can lead from the front and deliver a good score in this opening fixture.

Swashbuckling opener Alex Hales also looked good in the recently concluded Mzansi Super League staged in South Africa. He will be looking to adjust to the conditions and get the side off to a good start against Brisbane Heat.

Usman Khuwaja will be looking to play a big role for the side at the top of the innings. Left-hander is more than capable to produce big scores for Thunder in this year’s competition.

In the bowling department, the side will be relying on Chris Tremain, Gurinder Sandhu, and Daniel Sams to make crucial breakthroughs. Pacer Chris Morris and spinner Chris Green will be other prominent bowling options for the side for this opening clash against Brisbane Heat.

Sydney Thunder Predicted Playing XI:

Callum Ferguson (captain), Usman Khuwaja, Alex Hales, Daniel Sams, Alex Ross, Matt Gilkes (wk), Jason Sangha/Nathan McAndrew, Gurinder Sandhu, Chris Morris, Chris Tremain, and Chris Green

Sydney Thunder Actual Playing XI:

Alex Hales, CP Tremain, Daniel Sams, Nathan John McAndrew, Arjun Nair, Matthew Gilkes, Christopher Green, Usman Khawaja, Callum Ferguson, Jonathan Cook, Alex Ross

Weather Conditions

Traditionally, the wicket at The Gabba will provide pace and bounce for the quick bowlers. The batsmen will need to see off the new ball to score big runs on this surface. The weather condition for the game to be played on Tuesday is expected to be partly cloudy with a gentle breeze.

Venue Details

The Gabba in Brisbane is going to host the opening of Big Bash League 2019 between Brisbane Heat and Sydney Thunder. Brisbane Heat have won their last four matches against Sydney Thunder. On the other hand, Sydney Thunder’s only win came in the 2014 BBL season.

Toss: To Bowl

The side that wins the toss would be looking to bowl first and exploit the pitch conditions. The average score at the venue is around 160 to 170 runs.

After analyzing both the squads, Host Brisbane Heat will be confident of doing well in this opening fixture. With the inclusion of AB De Villiers, Tom Banton in their batting department, Brisbane Heat will be tough to beat in their backyard.

Expect Brisbane Heat to beat Sydney Thunder in this BBL opener!


150% Sports Welcome up to ₹32,000


Author: Shoaib Z.